She’s fallen and can’t get up

Ronnie again.  I know this is a sooner than normal update, but I had to share something that happened last night, while it was still fresh on my mind.  Since Sue’s shoulder surgery, Nov 4th, she has been sleeping in the recliner in our family room.  A couple of times she has tried to sleep in the bed, but it just doesn’t seem to work.  From what we hear, it’s pretty normal because of the way the shoulder tries to rest on the bed.  I’ve been sleeping on an air mattress near her in the family room.  I can sleep on a window seal, so this is no big deal to me.  Although, just last night I was considering sleeping upstairs in our bed, but I didn’t.  About 4am, Sue got up to go to the bathroom and when she came back, she accidentally tripped over the leg of the recliner and fell face down on the floor between the couch and our coffee table.  She was stuck.  Luckily she didn’t get hurt and luckily she had her sling on.  Besides the fact that she can’t really move her arm much, one of the other reasons they require you to wear a sling for a long time is to prevent you from making normal quick reactions like trying to brace a fall.  I rolled over and started slinging stuff away from her so she could get up.  Like I said, she didn’t get hurt, other than a little sore. It’s one of those things that, with time, will be really funny.  It showed today at physical therapy and she wasn’t able to have the movement in her arm she had last week.  But from what the physical therapist was telling us today, it is perfectly normal at this stage to have visits like this one.  Four more days and I’m off until after the 1st, so I am excited.  Then I can get Sue around and not worry about her staying here by herself.  Terry Witt, our good friend, came and got her today and they went for a walk around Apex lake and then went for lunch.  That was great and she had fun.  Katie and Steve are coming in this weekend and we are excited about spending time with them and with Jeff and Lyndsey over the holidays.  God is good all the time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Brazil Updates

Leave a comment